Following an extensive recruitment process, five designate independent non-executive director (NED) appointments have been made to the new ICB board, subject to the new statutory NHS body (known as NHS Gloucestershire) coming into being on 1 July 2022.

They join Dame Gill Morgan, Chair designate, and designate ICB Chief Executive Mary Hutton who were both appointed last year.

Between them, the designate NEDS have wide ranging skills, knowledge, experience and commitment to public service and will make an invaluable contribution in supporting recovery from the pandemic and helping to shape the future of health and care with Gloucestershire’s people and communities.

They will play a key oversight role in making sure NHS Gloucestershire plans and commissions high quality, joined up care, continues to prioritise and tackle health inequalities, makes best use of the resources available and attracts additional resources as a leading health and care system.

They are:

  •   Joanna Coast, System Resources
  •   Jane Cummings, System Quality
  •   Colin Greaves, Primary Care & Direct Commissioning
  •   Clive Lewis, Remuneration
  •   Julie Soutter, Audit

The new ICB organisation will fulfil the commissioning functions of the current CCG and some from NHS England; will be responsible for overseeing the day to day running of the NHS locally and for developing a plan to meet the healthcare needs of the population.

It will work hand in glove with a strong Integrated Care Partnership (known as One Gloucestershire Health and Wellbeing Partnership) bringing together health care, social care, public health and other public, voluntary and community sector partners to develop a broader health, care and wellbeing plan for Gloucestershire (integrated care strategy).

Chair designate of NHS Gloucestershire ICB, Dame Gill Morgan said:

“After an extensive search, the depth and breadth of experience of those appointed is outstanding.

“Colin, Clive, Jane, Joanna and Julie will be huge assets to the new ICB organisation. I look forward to them joining us as designates from February 2022 to ensure a smooth handover and transition from the CCG to our ICB statutory body in the summer.”

Chief executive designate of NHS Gloucestershire ICB, Mary Hutton said: “I am so pleased to welcome the new non-executive team. They were excellent candidates and will each bring unique skills and insight to Gloucestershire’s health and care system as we strive to maximise the resources and opportunities available to us, deliver excellent care and empower people and communities to stay healthy.”


Professor Joanna Coast

Non-Executive Director designate
System Resources

Joanna has been an academic health economist for over 30 years. She is currently Professor in the Economics of Health & Care at the University of Bristol, and previously had a professorial role at the University of Birmingham.

Jo’s key focus is on issues of resource allocation in health service provision, including the evaluation of service interventions. She has particular expertise in measuring outcomes for health, wellbeing and care based on people’s lived experiences.

Professor Jane Cummings CBE RN

Non-Executive Director designate
System Quality

Jane has extensive executive and clinical experience in the NHS and also worked for the Department of Health and Social Care in the Adult Social Care team. She was Chief Nursing Officer for England for almost 7 years prior to her retirement in January 2019, in addition to being the national director sponsor for learning disabilities, equality, diversity, patient engagement, experience and the regional director for London for 15 months.

Jane has honorary doctorates from Edge Hill, New Bucks and Bradford Universities and is a visiting professor at Kingston and St George’s Universities.

Jane is Chair of the RCN Foundation and a trustee of Macmillan Cancer Support and COVID-19 Healthcare Support Appeal charities.

Colin Greaves OBE

Non-Executive Director designate
Primary Care & Direct Commissioning

Colin is a senior executive with wide-ranging leadership experience including: command, international diplomacy, strategic planning and crisis management. He has boardroom experience across the public, private and voluntary sectors.

After a full career in the military, Colin worked in corporate governance and was an Independent Member of the Gloucestershire Police Authority. He joined NHS Gloucestershire CCG in 2013 as the Lay Member for Governance and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Colin brings strategic insight to the ICB; with a particular interest in primary care, he will chair the committee for Primary Care and Direct Commissioning.

Clive Lewis OBE DL

Non-Executive Director designate

Clive is a Business Psychologist specialising in employee and industrial relations. He is founder and Chief Executive of Globis Mediation Group. His research on Mediation and Organisation Diagnosis in the NHS was shortlisted for a national psychology award. He is currently studying towards a doctorate in Occupational Health, Psychology and Management, researching Civility in the NHS.

Clive regularly works with government and in December 2020 he was appointed to chair the Government’s national COVID-19 Equalities Committee.

He previously served as a Non-Executive Director of Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for six years. He was awarded the OBE in 2011 and was commissioned as Her Majesty’s Deputy Lieutenant for Gloucestershire in 2012.

Julie Soutter

Non-Executive Director designate

Julie is a finance and management professional, qualifying as a Chartered Accountant with Deloitte, with change management and process improvement skills and experience. She has worked across the professional, charitable, private and public sectors, with roles in large accountancy practices, senior positions in the NHS and not for profit organisations, and operational leadership in the innovation sector.

Alongside her executive experience, Julie has held a number of non-executive roles in the NHS, public and charitable sectors. Previously she was a Non-Executive Director of Great Western Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for 7 years, chairing its Audit, Risk and Assurance Committee.